Workshop layout

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

polsonm87

Reaction score
Hi all,

Moved house a couple of years ago which had a 7.5m x 6m outbuilding. The building was split in 2, one side a shed/workshop the other side a garden room/games room.
I have removed the partition in between as i never used the garden room/games room and slowly converting it into one larger workshop.
I am just looking for any advice for the layout of the workshop, specifically the setup for the dust extraction.
I have made a few sketch up layout so you can get an idea. I am not very good at sketch up so hope it makes sense.

This is how i want the workshop to look like

Screen Shot 2021-01-29 at 18.22.46.png

This is what i am planning.

Screen Shot 2021-01-29 at 18.20.37.png

I am also planning to extend the building by 3.5m as a storage shed, which i would in the long term like to put my dust extractor in to reduce noise etc. Like so.

Screen Shot 2021-01-29 at 18.25.35.png

Thanks

The most practical DC layout is to put the DC in one of the two corners of the addition, by the door for dust bag/bin removal being better. A main pipe coming out of that corner running diagonally to the opposite corner with branches off it to the machines.

As for the mitre bench. I would put that on the wall by the big door or the man door wall so material can be cut up as it is brought in and if really long can stick out the door until cut shorter.

Pete

Where is your main workbench?

I'd but the mitre saw in the left wall and your main bench on the back wall.

Good idea to put the DX and compressor if you have one in another room.

Cheers James

Thanks for the replies.

Yes i hope to have the DX in the shed next door, eventually. To reduce noise save space.
My main workbench will be the MFT. which i will have my shop vac built into for power tool extraction.