Working with an angle grinder.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dc_ni

Established Member
Reaction score
When I used to butcher metal for a living I used to always use the grinder with the guard fitted.

Something I've noticed recently when watching the likes of American Chopper is that when they use the grinder it's with the guard removed.

I know from experience that at times the guard can be a PITA but I would never of considered using it with the guard removed because I would consider it to be to big of a risk.

What's the opinion of others, guard on or guard off?

I have always used one with the guard fitted. Must say I didn't know they could be removed, have just been to look at mine and realised how easy it was. Would never remove it as I can't see any reason for removing it.

On the few occasions I have nipped the end of a finger with a griderette or sanding pad it reinforces my determination to work with the guard on, after all they can be adjusted out of the way whilst still protecting the hand. I guess in all American Chopper the grinders are all so weak they don't bite or the users are all so dumb they don't notice. The steel-bashers equivalent of having no riving knife I suppose.

dc_ni":7nc69sjg said:
When I used to butcher metal for a living I used to always use the grinder with the guard fitted.

Something I've noticed recently when watching the likes of American Chopper is that when they use the grinder it's with the guard removed.

I know from experience that at times the guard can be a PITA but I would never of considered using it with the guard removed because I would consider it to be to big of a risk.

What's the opinion of others, guard on or guard off?