Wood supply for scroll sawing

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tomasgursky

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody. I'm new to scroll sawing as well as to this forum I'm glad I've found. I accured and old Rexon SS16SA scroll saw, done some refurbishing on it and have found myslef quite enjoying to do some scroll sawing. The scroll saw is not the best one but at least I can practice on it and once I save all the money I will upgrade it for something decent.
Now to the problem. I don'r really know where to get a wood from or at least if I go to shop what to look for? I know it might sound stupid but I did some wooden animals for my son from some constructional timber offcuts I got from work but this is rather too soft and it can break easily if I've got some tiny edges. I'm not looking for a hardwood yet, softwood will serve me well for time being.
I haven't got a band saw or a planner/thicknesser (yet :)) but do have a table saw.
I'm located in Beeston, Nottingham and really apreciate any help and/or guidance.

Thank you,
Tomas

I use mostly ply - 1/8" or greater which can be had from Homebase or Hobbycraft. There's a timber yard in Nottingham that advertises bundles of offcuts on E-bay - but you'd need to search for them.

For larger sheets of ply (8' x 4') I get mine from Fletchers Timber Yard at Station Road, Spondon (Derby).

Hope this helps,

Martin (Derby)

just checked the nottingham wood yard user name on e-bay is ayesha-simba

Niimus":j526ft3s said:
I use mostly ply - 1/8" or greater which can be had from Homebase or Hobbycraft. There's a timber yard in Nottingham that advertises bundles of offcuts on E-bay - but you'd need to search for them.

For larger sheets of ply (8' x 4') I get mine from Fletchers Timber Yard at Station Road, Spondon (Derby).

Hope this helps,

Martin (Derby)