Who’s Making Marmalade?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

John DeLapp

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
I’m sitting here in California up to my elbows in Seville oranges, making marmalade. I would like to know if there are others who are experienced in making the rough old Scottish type. It consists of Seville Oranges, the same weight in sugar and the same weight again of the water used to boil the oranges at the start. As much as I can appreciate the labors of others with their tri fruit blends and carefully sectioned fruit removing all traces of membrane that is not what I’m after. Is anyone still making the rough old original? I have been doing this for approximately the past eight or nine years so I’m not an absolute beginner.
I’ve started with 14 1/2 pounds of oranges.
IMG_0043.jpeg

Funnily enough in Waitrose supermarkets ( top class supermarket in the uk) they were doing recipe cards next to the oranges

Attachments

• IMG_2078.jpeg
    IMG_2078.jpeg
    3.7 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_2079.jpeg
    IMG_2079.jpeg
    3.1 MB · Views: 0
Thanks F, I wonder if anyone has actually made marmalade using two to one sugar. For years I’ve picked oranges from street trees in Sacramento. Nobody bothers with spraying them but they don’t get a lot of water. Tha marmalade required close to an even hundred percent sugar. For the last few years I’ve gotten from my pal Michael’s tree. Unquestionably organic and well irrigated. Although the Seville are never remotely sweet I’ve found that I can cut back on the sugar just a little. The photo if I can get it to print just once, is my wife holding a pick pole in Town. You’ll have to take my word for it.

My wife makes Marmalade and coincidentally bought a box of Seville oranges at the weekend. She tells me that always uses a bit less sugar than the recipe states.