whirligig propellers

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dizjasta

Established Member
Reaction score
I am new to whirligig making and would be grateful for some info regarding best angle for setting blade/hub angle.

regards diz

In the book "Action Whirligigs" it says 45° but I can't imagine it's too critical?

I tend to use 45° or near as dammit. As woodpig says, it's not critical. Sometimes aesthetics might call for a different angle, it'll still spin.

Hi woodpig and NazNomad
Thanks for your info regarding hub/blade angles. I will now have a stab at 4 blade prop with 55mm pine hub with 6mm ply blades and overall diameter of 360mm. The hub will be attempted first using 18mm thick bits of scrap machined with a small Trend t3 router. Wish me luck.
dizjasta

The hub has been machined with the router and looks OK. 2 blade seats have been cut in it parallel to the wood grain and 2 perpendicular to it. A card template for the blades is ready and I will walk to the timber supplier to buy some 6mm sheet when the wind drops. At this time unfortunately my account does not allow for images to be posted.

nlkxz.jpg[img]

I used ply blades on a whirligig and, being outside in the weather, the blades de-laminated and ultimately shook the whole thing to pieces.

I try to use solid blades now.

Have a look at my video here. https://youtu.be/mc_Ow7KqLlg

I cut out a circular block about 3" diameter then using a bandsaw with the table set at an angle (you can use a scroll saw or hand saw) I cut slots into it any number from 3 to 6 is my normal number according to the power required and insert metal blades (cut using tin-snips) into the slots. they work really well and are very efficient.

Notes

The angle of the blades is not critical nor is the length or surface area.