Valuing A Business

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MooreToolsPlease

Established Member
Reaction score
Evening all,
The guy who runs the company I have been working at for a few years now has decided to call it a day, he's got another business interest and has asked whether or not I would be interested in the business.
I'm currently self employed, so I would carry on under my trading name, but I would be dealing with the customer base he has grown over 20 years in the industry.
The main product is timber subframes for aluminium windows to be fitted into. We have one range which is PAR timber with beads, or a newer one which is double rebated to fit a slim line steel window.
As well as this we do undertake general joinery jobs, doors, casement windows and the like.
The business is breaking even at the moment, but not making a huge amount of money, I have identifiewd a number of key areas where I know money can be saved, and more proffit made.
I've spoken to the guy at length and he has said he will be looking for 1.5% of the turnover for 2 years.
Does this figure sound about right for a business which is barely breaking even?
The machinery and stock are easy to calculate their worth, but the customer base is proving to be tricky.

Many thanks

Matt

I think you need to get your accountant involved. When I was looking at buying a business last year, my family accountant did a full assessment of the business, looking back through the books and valuing the companies assets. I guess you could do it yourself but an accountant will do it quickly.

Hi MTP