Quantcast

Triton planer thicknesser stopped working

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

mrmoose

Established Member
Joined
24 Sep 2016
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
Location
Bristol
Hi folks,
I accidentally put a plank through my Triton planer thicknesser that was too thick:rolleyes: (i.e. it was taking off too much in one pass) it stopped before I could switch it off so I presumed it had overheated but now will not restart, any suggestions?
 

Myfordman

AKA 9Fingers
Joined
19 Jan 2013
Messages
2,280
Reaction score
88
Location
Southampton area
Assuming you have not bu88ered it, then there might be a reset button hidden away or it might need a long time to cool down 10s of minutes if it is an automatic resetting type. Reading the manual might help?
 

sunnybob

wysiwyg
Joined
11 Oct 2014
Messages
8,399
Reaction score
155
Location
cyprus
Unlikely to be an automatic reset on a something as potentially dangerous as that. But look all around the cutting head for a small black or red push button. It might take a pencil end to reset it as some are very hard to press. If thats the problem, there will be a loud click when it resets.
 

AJB Temple

Finely figured
UKW Supporter
Joined
13 Oct 2015
Messages
3,210
Reaction score
423
Location
Tunbridge Wells
Presumably you have got the wood out?

Make sure you have not got wood fragments jamming the cutter. I would suspect that a jam is at least as likely as overheating.

Lesson learned - totally ignore manufacturer claims of max capacity and take much shallower cuts in these DIY machines.
 

mrmoose

Established Member
Joined
24 Sep 2016
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
Location
Bristol
Assuming you have not bu88ered it, then there might be a reset button hidden away or it might need a long time to cool down 10s of minutes if it is an automatic resetting type. Reading the manual might help?
Hi Myfordman, It wouldn't start after a couple of days and there is nothing in the manual I'll try looking for a reset button /hole but am not that hopeful! :cautious:
 

mrmoose

Established Member
Joined
24 Sep 2016
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
Location
Bristol
Presumably you have got the wood out?

Make sure you have not got wood fragments jamming the cutter. I would suspect that a jam is at least as likely as overheating.

Lesson learned - totally ignore manufacturer claims of max capacity and take much shallower cuts in these DIY machines.
Thanks, I'll check there is nothing jamming it also but don't think that's the case.
 

Chris_Pallet

Established Member
Joined
20 Apr 2020
Messages
19
Reaction score
1
Location
Essex
I had mine 4 months and just wasn't impressed with it screwfix were amazing and returned it for full refund no questions asked.
Check the erbauer and Clarke website manuals as all those machines are near identical just certain parts are metal not plastic.
 

okeydokey

Established Member
Joined
21 Nov 2014
Messages
116
Reaction score
10
Location
Burgess Hill
Morning
Have you checked the fuse in the plug? ?

Also checked the the mains socket is still live by plugging in something else?
I don't know this machine but is it possible after trying the above and with the machine unplugged to turn the blades/belt/motor by hand to see if there is a hidden wood jam?
Good luck
 

Mick p

New member
Joined
22 Dec 2017
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Havant
Hi Myfordman, It wouldn't start after a couple of days and there is nothing in the manual I'll try looking for a reset button /hole but am not that hopeful! :cautious:
Hi I have the same machine the reset button is to the right of the on/off switch
 

Seiken

Established Member
Joined
28 Feb 2017
Messages
167
Reaction score
0
Location
Camberley
Assuming its the TPT125 model, bottom of page 7 of the manual - how to reset the circuit breaker.
 

mrmoose

Established Member
Joined
24 Sep 2016
Messages
19
Reaction score
0
Location
Bristol
Hi Folks,
All sorted:)(y) many thanks for your help. I didn't spot it before because I only looked in the back of the manual at the troubleshooting guide and thought it was referring to the circuit breaker on my fuse box, not on the machine!:rolleyes:
 

mr rusty

Established Member
Joined
8 Jul 2017
Messages
77
Reaction score
1
Location
chorley
I have one of those. It's a piece of poo but it does the job. I've put a heck of a lot of timber through mine. As a planer its garbage - the tables are flimsy and just don't stay lined up parallel, as is the fence. I have extended the thicknesser table with 18mm ply, removed the plastic guard (and tie-wrapped the safety micro) and made a ply guard and just let the chips fall and sweep up afterwards - haven't got any dust extraction that can cope with the huge amount it makes. Having said all that, taking ~max 1mm passes it will thickness to 0.1mm accuracy across the bed. You pays your money...
 
Top