table saw blade

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sunnybob

wysiwyg
Reaction score
I've had to abandon my quest for a new table saw, my price range only stretched to poor quality machines and I'm sick of buying stuff that does not work so am not going down that route anymore.
So, untill I get a windfall from somewhere my last ditch attempt to improve what I have involves a new (different) blade.

recommendations please for 250mm x 30mm blade that will give smooth cuts in hardwoods.

+1 for Freud, also quieter than others I have used, for smooth cross cuts in hardwood you will have to increase the tooth count, I use a 60 tooth for most of my Oak work, but you can go up to 96 tooth if needed, but perhaps not available in 250dia.

Mike

Matt, I have done a lot of reading on the blades because I have no personal experience, but I am surprised you say 40 tooth.
i have 42 tooth blades and am deeply unhappy with them. I have 1 that came with the ryobi saw and an axminster one. Many places and people say 60 or even 80 tooth for fine cuts.
I dont often have softwoods, or even long rips, almost all of my work is on hardwoods.

Mike, our posts crossed....
that tooth count is more in line with what I have read, although I dont use much oak in my box making. I like the brighter bubinga, walnut and maple.
Freud blades are so far 2 for 2.

Rick... 3 for 3 for Freud.

Bob

I do have an 80 tooth blade, but its a fine line using it to rip cut between burning and feed rate, especially in a dense piece of Oak, great for cross cutting, but the faff of changing the blade between cross and rip cutting generally means the 60 tooth gets used the most for both.

Mike

Cutting anything that you don't care about the finish, perhaps logs for the fire. :wink:

Mike

sunnybob":33geg68k said: