Straight razor users.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woodbrains

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm sure this must have been discussed here before, but I'm new to shaving with a straight razor, (first shave this morning) and wondered if anyone here has advice (apart from not to!) and equipment recommendations. I sort of got into it by default, since a friend mentioned that he thought I probably used a straight. When I said I'd not tried, but it facineted me, he bought me a present of a shavette kit. I had to give it a go then. I since got a couple of leathers to make my own paddle strop and a cheap, but shave ready razor. Not too much of a loss if I don't continue. The leathers will make good tool strops, after all. What are good razors and other stuff people use?

Mike.

Sporky McGuffin":3e8co6uf said:
Straight razor is a bit hardcore for me, but I'm a convert to a Merkur safety razor.

You're braver than I am!

have you tried the Japanese Feather blades? I did so on a recommendation and I have found them to be excellent- noticeably sharper than anything else I have used.

I haven't, but I'll put 'em on the list. I bought 500 DEs a couple of years ago and haven't finished them yet - nearing the end of the pile though. Ta.

Hello,

The Merkur razors look good. I'm sick of those multi blade cartridges TBH, and might get something similar if I don't continue with the straight.

I suppose you are using brushes, shaving soaps and the usual paraphernalia. Any recomendations?

Mike.

Try a shaving oil, rub it in and the blade will glide over your skin.
I prefer it to soap for use with a straight razor as it allows you to see the blade, letting you see the angle. Really good for under the chin(s) and neck area.

PS,
Get a styptic pencil and some bracing bars :lol: