Spraying advice for a noob - what paint to use???

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ed H

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys
As the subject line indicates, I’m new to the world of spraying and am in need of some advice from you all please.

I’ve been using a foam roller to paint my furniture up until now and while the final result is very acceptable it’s clearly not as good as a sprayed on finish. My next few projects are fairly large so now seems a good time to make the jump to spraying.

I’ve read lots of posts here and have a good grasp of the space, ventilation and equipment required (I plan to get an Earlex HV5000) as well and the general process (number of coats, de-nibbing etc).

However, where I still need help is on the type of paint to use. Most of the pro’s on the forum seem to use Morrells AC or Pre-cat but I have little knowledge of these paints and they seem to have a very limited life once opened/mixed. I could be completely wrong, but if not this doesn’t seem like the right paint for me to use.

When using the roller I have used a water based MDF primer and Dulux Diamond Eggshell which both go on easily, dry fairly quickly and seems to be hardwearing. Can these types of paint be used for spraying?

I guess my question in a nut shell would be what type of paint (primer and top coat) would you guys suggest I use as a hobbyist who’s new to spraying ?

Thanks in advance for the help.
Ed

Hi Ed

I use morrells waterbased 8005/501 primer followed by pigmented laquer 8/4800 works for me Not as quick drying as the ac or pre cat but you can still do 4 coats in a day better when it's warmer

Hi Ed,