Quantcast

Spindle moulder cutting depth

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

flanajb

Established Member
Joined
11 Mar 2009
Messages
1,289
Reaction score
4
This might sound like a strange question, but I am looking through the Whitehill 2011 catalogue. Ok, I know it's a Friday night, but I can either read that or watch Coronation St!

I am looking at the 125mm * 100mm cutter head and associated cutters and am asking myself "can you you cut the profile in one pass, and if so what size moulder would you need to do that?"

I also assume that when cutting profiles like that you would require a power feed.

Only asking as I am thinking of getting a spindle moulder. I haven't used one since I destroyed my thumb knuckle and nearly lost my thumb on one 20 years ago :cry:
 

lugo35

Established Member
Joined
9 Jan 2006
Messages
590
Reaction score
0
most profiles can be done in one pass. unless its alot to remove then its best to take it in two if possible. as to power feed not required unless the block is for use with one.
with the anti kickback design blocks they feed well by hand . if you are likely to run large quantities of the same mould a power feed would be worth it. but then again all machines can bit!!!!!!
 

Jacob

Established Member
Joined
7 Jul 2010
Messages
16,119
Reaction score
2
Location
Derbyshire
Profiles can be done in one pass - only if the machine is powerful enough.
I think a power feed is more or less essential - only to be done without if you really can't afford it.
Makes everything so much safer, easier and more precise. Little stuff as well as big, whatever the block
 

Oryxdesign

Established Member
Joined
30 Dec 2007
Messages
1,716
Reaction score
0
Location
Kent, UK
You can run pretty big profiles in one pass but it is often better to take more passes. With s power feed this is safer and faster. I also think a power feed is pretty much essential.
 

flanajb

Established Member
Joined
11 Mar 2009
Messages
1,289
Reaction score
4
The thought of hand feeding a piece of timber into a 100mm deep cutter block would make me a little nervous
 

Jacob

Established Member
Joined
7 Jul 2010
Messages
16,119
Reaction score
2
Location
Derbyshire
flanajb":1a41a92o said:
The thought of hand feeding a piece of timber into a 100mm deep cutter block would make me a little nervous
:shock: And so it should!
Can be done, with the requisite hold-ins, hold-downs, push-sticks etc, but a power-feed is so much easier and safer.
 

ProShop

Established Member
Joined
19 Apr 2004
Messages
1,048
Reaction score
0
Location
North Lincolnshire
Much as said above, another great advantage of a powerfeeder is you get a much better quality of finish as long as you set the right cutter speed to the correct feeder speed.

FWIW I've run that block you describe on a 5hp moulder cutting kiln dried Oak in one pass.
 

flanajb

Established Member
Joined
11 Mar 2009
Messages
1,289
Reaction score
4
Thanks for your comments. I will make sure that when I get around to buying the spindle I also get a power feed.
 

ProShop

Established Member
Joined
19 Apr 2004
Messages
1,048
Reaction score
0
Location
North Lincolnshire
flanajb":2pl1p1sk said:
Thanks for your comments. I will make sure that when I get around to buying the spindle I also get a power feed.
Make sure it's a 4 speed & reverse minimum
 

flanajb

Established Member
Joined
11 Mar 2009
Messages
1,289
Reaction score
4
ProShop":s6g25c58 said:
flanajb":s6g25c58 said:
Thanks for your comments. I will make sure that when I get around to buying the spindle I also get a power feed.
Make sure it's a 4 speed & reverse minimum
I understand why you would have multiple feed speeds, but why do you have a reverse ?
 

doctor Bob

Established Member
Joined
22 Jun 2011
Messages
3,637
Reaction score
196
Location
Matching Green
flanajb":dpt62992 said:
ProShop":dpt62992 said:
flanajb":dpt62992 said:
Thanks for your comments. I will make sure that when I get around to buying the spindle I also get a power feed.
Make sure it's a 4 speed & reverse minimum
I understand why you would have multiple feed speeds, but why do you have a reverse ?
All the power feeds I've ever seen have multiple speeds with both directions for all speeds, as technically there is neither a forwards or reverse because they can be spun round.
 

flanajb

Established Member
Joined
11 Mar 2009
Messages
1,289
Reaction score
4
doctor Bob":5edcwt1r said:
All the power feeds I've ever seen have multiple speeds with both directions for all speeds, as technically there is neither a forwards or reverse because they can be spun round.
Understood
 

ProShop

Established Member
Joined
19 Apr 2004
Messages
1,048
Reaction score
0
Location
North Lincolnshire
As Bob mentions, and also some spindle moulders have a reverse (very useful).

FWIW some power feeders are only 2 speed + reverse.
 
Top