Source of Detailed Furniture Plans for Novice ?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NigelParry

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I’m a novice, currently on the city and guilds furniture course keen to learn and develop.

I’m trying to find some detailed furniture plans from which I can derive the cutting list, draw out the rod and generally get inspiration for projects.

I’m looking for a large selection to choose from and that will take me from novice to intermediate.

Am I asking too much or do you have any recommendations ?

Cheers

Hi,
Many woodworking periodicals offer such plans and cutlists.
You might also try books on Shaker and Arts and Crafts furniture. Their authors usually have a minimalist/ reductionist approach to design, which makes it easier for a beginner to wrap their heads around the various projects.

Hi Paul Sellers gives detailed cultists and drawings with his free content I don't want to breach site rules on advertising. Google if you need to.

FatmanG":1y6d936s said:
Hi Paul Sellers gives detailed cultists and drawings with his free content I don't want to breach site rules on advertising. Google if you need to.

you're not breaking any rules as far as I can tell.

to nigel, you should check out a few books by lost art press, my first book was working wood 1&2 by paul sellers, there's no rods in it but it has a few projects in there, a more advanced one might be something like 'unplugged workshop by tom fidgen' and 'the professional approach by alan peters' but as far as rods and learning that you'll probably need seperate books for it, jacob on here once suggested a book about learning how to read and use rods but I can't remember what it was called.