So what is it worth

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

narrowboater

Established Member
Reaction score
Having viewed the thread from gus3049 about to burn or not, the question is what is it worth.

If I turn a pen, what will people pay. I pay 50p for the wood and about £ 2.50 for the kit. It takes me, (I am a beginner) about 30 minutes, ok it depends on the quality, but I don't reckon it is too bad, what can I sell it for and where. I am not asking to keep me and the wife in champers, but neither do I want to undersell either myself or you out there who rely on selling their goods to live.

A friend of mine lives in California and sells 6inch bowls for about £30!!

My wife makes embroidered cards and bead jewelry, can she sell them, can she h**l. Am I alone in thinking that people in this country are not prepared to pay what it costs to make stuff. OK I know that really good stuff will sell, but the question is. Is there a market for the sort of stuff that many of us turn out.

OK rant over, hope you had a good Xmas, and I wish you all a good new year, and thanks for the advice that appears on these pages.

Regards
Rod

narrowboater":3imvpknd said:
Having viewed the thread from gus3049 about to burn or not, the question is what is it worth.

If I turn a pen, what will people pay. I pay 50p for the wood and about £ 2.50 for the kit. It takes me, (I am a beginner) about 30 minutes, ok it depends on the quality, but I don't reckon it is too bad, what can I sell it for and where. I am not asking to keep me and the wife in champers, but neither do I want to undersell either myself or you out there who rely on selling their goods to live.

A friend of mine lives in California and sells 6inch bowls for about £30!!