Sketchup help please

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paullap

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi I am new to Sketchup, I have just made a leg say, saved it as a component copied and pasted 3 others, and according to the tutorials any alterations you make to one changes them all, Mine does not do that just the one i am editing, Any suggestions please

Paul

Sketchup 2022

I'm not familiar with SU 2022 but in my version of SU , I never use copy and paste. I select the item I want to duplicate, then holding down the Option key (I have a Mac) and Move, drag the item to where you want it. You will see that you have created a duplicate. Try that.

HTH

As Roger says, use the Move command. On a PC if you press Control it will duplicate the item.
Don't forget to 'Flip along axis' accessed by right clicking the item when you have duplicated it.

Copy and paste do the same as the move command on a Mac.

To edit a component you need to either double click it or select ‘edit component’ from the right mouse click so it is outlined in a dotted line. You can check that you are editing the component as the bit you are editing will be highlighted on all instances.

If you just single click an instance it will be surrounded by a blue line and changes will only affect the selected item.

it’s fiddly, but becomes second nature after a while.

Is there a problem with Sketchup?
I've just tried to download plans for something, and had to join "Trimble".
Name, email address as usual, but then was obliged to concoct a password.
Did so, confirmed it....and the system claimed they didn't agree, even though I clicked the box in order to show the characters. Yes, mix of upper and lower, a number, no special symbols....
"Must reset password".....wait for 6 digit code to get emailed.