Shooting Board Plane Req'd

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Markymark

Established Member
Reaction score
I have just built my first Shooting board but I am lacking one important component. A plane. I assume I need a low angle plane for taking off thin shavings from the end grain of various woods.

I am only a beginner so Price is crucial. What can you advise?

Mark

Hi Mark

What planes do you have at the moment? Any?

Cheers

Karl

Markymark":3cv3eomc said:
I have just built my first Shooting board but I am lacking one important component. A plane. I assume I need a low angle plane for taking off thin shavings from the end grain of various woods.

I am only a beginner so Price is crucial. What can you advise?

Mark

The ideal plane is a LN No 9 Mitre...but it's a lot :shock: of wedge. Failing that you might be able to find a Record T5 for a reasonable price but you're best bet by far is to contact Philly of this parish :wink: and see what a wooden mitre plane will set you back - Rob

Hi Karl

None at the Moment. Just getting slowly kitted out.

WoodBloke

I do Agree buy the best LN but a lot of things to accrue in very little time so my budget wont go that far yet.

Mark

Markymark":1ejlwwqk said:
Hi Karl

None at the Moment. Just getting slowly kitted out.

Mark

I wouldn't stress about it being a low angle plane in that case. A standard bailey type plane is perfectly useable on a shooting board. Better to buy one versatile plane than one which is solely for use on a shootig board.

So the question is - how much have you got to splash? Plenty of folks on here able to help you spend it!

Cheers

Karl