English Stanley bench plane type study

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Dating English Stanley bench planes has been discussed in many threads here. The lack of an English Stanley bench plane type study has been expressed many times. A draft, based on previous duscussions, has been presented, for example, in TimeTestedTools.

My experience with planes is limited but, as a researcher, I found this as an interesting and useful research problem. The type study I started about a year ago is not academic research, but I hope that I can obtain some results that are useful for plane collectors and other woodworkers. And, maybe, these results can be a starting point for more elaborate type studies.

Data collection has been challenging, but in addition to my own collection of 28 English Stanley planes I have collected photo sets, mostly from Ebay. The problem with such data is that I have no access to the history of the planes, e.g. the year of production, part replacements etc. It is also possible that I have not found all feature combinations manufactured.

My approach has been to first make a type study of plane bodies, because they don't, obviously, have any replaced parts. I consider plane body as the original part of the plane. I have now more or less finished the type study of plane bodies.

The type study has been limited to sizes 4 and 5. The US type study has been limited to size 4, but I have included also size 5, because bed ribs are a significant type defining feature. There are differences between sizes 4 and 5, but the most significant type defining features are similar.

I have used the following type defining features for plane bodies:
- Shape of the frog receiver
- Alignment of "MADE IN" with "ENGLAND"
- Bed ribs
- Number of contact points in frog receiver
- Types of lower and upper contact points in frog receiver