sharpening technique

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mac1012

Established Member
Reaction score
hi I am fairly new to the dark arts of hand tools sharpening and thanks to you guys I have gleaned some good advice

I have gone down the trend diamond stone route so my question isn't about which method as in water,oil,diamond , etc but more on technique

I have tried on some chaep chisels but the techniques used by hand I still struggle with I scared of maknjg a dogs cahoneys on anything decent

I seen paul sellers video on you tube which is quite good I know he was saying he dosent advocacte a micro bevel but has a technique that makes the bevel concave when he was doing a chisel

frankly its all making my head hurt (hammer)

I see he has a dvd on sharpening does anyone know if it would be suitable for a newbie ? or any resources

I am a bit of a step my step kind of approach guy

with the various hand tools I getting scorps knifes etc I know there is diff techniques for diff tools

was hoping to get a dvd or book that goes through the basics for diff tools for beginners

thanks mark

Paul Sellers sharpening is about as easy as you can get it and is ideal for beginners. He uses diamond plates in his video but oil stones will do just the same. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a6ykVzL2VAM
It's pretty much traditional sharpening as done by millions past and present.
If you are a beginner I wouldn't look any further - not least because there's a confusing mass of alternatives on offer, some of them no good at all!

Mark

If you read back through the longest threads in the hand tools section, you will see that there are several different ways to sharpen. Each has its advantages and disadvantages, which I am not going to repeat here. (Each has its defenders and detractors too.)