Sharpening advice for dabbler

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
I'm an occasional woodworker - very ignorant - based in Cheltenham.
I read the UK workshop forum every day, and feel very ignorant (but not discouraged!) I really appreciate the dissemination of expertise.
I have inherited loads of chisels and several hand planes. Also a few knives. They are all in a poor state of repair, and I would like to sharpen them. I'd like to get a decent sharpening system. Am I right in thinking Tormek are good?
Looking online, there seems to be a T-4 and a T-8. The T8 is a lot of money, but I'd rather buy once and buy something I don't want to upgrade later.
Opinions, please.

it is as good a solution as any, though there are plenty of copies of the Tormek, that are a lot cheaper if you wish to go down that route.
On this forum sharpening queries seem to open up a whole "can of worms". The reason for this, I don't quite understand. :LOL:

Last edited:
I wonder - would using a professional sharpening service to bulk sharpen most frequently used tools be a good idea to start with in this instance?

In theory - this would:
1. Allow to start with sharp tools and give an idea of what "sharp" is
2. reduce the need for buying expensive sharpening machine and allow to get by with a diamond stone (or two) for future touching up and sharpening?

I have never personally such a service but if I had thought about this option before I began wasting money on all sorts of sharpening equipment and gadgets I would have saved a lot of money, time and aggravation.

To give an idea of prices - quick google gave me this:

1699032338624.png

(no affiliation and no idea if this service is good or bad, but here is a link if anyone is interested where this screenshot came from)

Hi Everyone,
I'm an occasional woodworker - very ignorant - based in Cheltenham.