Router advice please....

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Victorthesecond

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I'm very much a novice woodworker.

My niece has asked if I can make her a chopping board for her kitchen. I'd like to put a groove around the top of the board and now need to buy a router.

I wondered if you might suggest a decent budget model? I've never used a router before, so any sort of general advice on what to look for would also be very welcome!

Thank you very much in advance.

Mike

Hello everyone. I'm very much a novice woodworker.

My niece has asked if I can make her a chopping board for her kitchen. I'd like to put a groove around the top of the board and now need to buy a router.

I wondered if you might suggest a decent budget model? I've never used a router before, so any sort of general advice on what to look for would also be very welcome!

Thank you very much in advance.

Mike
You'll probably be fine with something like this Katsu - not expensive, comes on its own or (for about £80) with various accessories. There's also a cordless version, if that's important (a bit more expensive). For what you want, it'll do the job - and is a decent option for a wider range of jobs.

There's a Makita for about twice the price, if you're no comfortable with unknown brands.

You'll also need some router bits - I'd start with a cheap set. The bits won't be the best but they'll get you started and you'll be able to figure out what works for you. Something like this for £12 is low risk.

You'll also need some router bits - I'd start with a cheap set.

Could I propose an alternative view please?

If he is buying the router for a single job, the groove in the chopping board, maybe the £12 could be better spent on a single bit of good quality that will make that groove.

I'm very much a novice woodworker.