Sedgwick CP buying advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PeterPan

Reaction score
Greetings to all!

First, let me again say Hi! to everybody since this is my first post on this forum :)

And to get straight to my question/inquiry:
I have the chance to bid for a used Sedgwick CP. Because I have zero experience with the brand and I can not visit or inspect the machine in person, I hope I can get some inside from more experienced users.

The machine is currently in Germany, and the starting bid is at €200 (£174). Because I would order transport to Slovenia, the cost for me would end up to be considerably higher. That's why I want to be even more cautious against a bad buy. Of course, I will call the seller for more information, but I have added pictures that the seller has put online, if maybe you can notice anything that would be worth mentioning (or I should note to ask the seller). Myself, I have noticed the infeed table looks like it is not aligned with the fence (marked on a picture), but I really can't explain it, and I am not sure if this is a major problem. So the closing question is: Should I bid for the machine and how high would you go?

I reviewed the forum, and it seems one can not really go wrong with a Sedgwick (the term often used is bomb-proof:)
Interestingly, German woodworking forums do not even have one post on Sedgwick, and it seems Germans are not interested in the brand, or the mentioned auction for that matter:)

Thank you in advance for any information/advice, and have a great (hopefully woodworky:) weekend!

Peter

Attachments

• SedgwickCP1.jpg
    SedgwickCP1.jpg
    171.3 KB · Views: 65
  • SedgwickCP2.jpg
    SedgwickCP2.jpg
    173.1 KB · Views: 64
  • SedgwickCP3.jpg
    SedgwickCP3.jpg
    167.6 KB · Views: 60
  • SedgwickCP4.jpg
    SedgwickCP4.jpg
    124.4 KB · Views: 54
  • SedgwickCP5.jpg
    SedgwickCP5.jpg