Scrolling 21mm American White Oak - Help!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aggrajag

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm no wood expert but I assume this post will apply to other hardwoods and oaks but I had two long planks of American White Oak from Arnold Lavers that I fancied using for three name-plaque/ornament/stands someone had asked me for and I thought it would contrast nicely, once waxed, against a simple light coloured plywood backing. Anyway I digress...

I have had an absolute nightmare cutting these, I guess I'm too used to pine and plywood but what the heck?

So to re-iterate, 21mm American White Oak, I tried Pegas Skip #7, Olson Mach #9, Olson Skip #9 and settled eventually using Olson PGT Double Reverse #9 as the best of a bad lot. I was tempted to try #12 but the various #12s I have all looked huge and didn't seem as though they'd be capable of the semi-detail I wanted.

The blades bend, wander, won't turn, then rapidly catch up on a slow turn (causing an angle rather than a curve,) they look great eventually at the face side but the bottom side the blade is well off the pattern (not critical but it'd look nicer.)

Even cutting a perfectly straight line, which can look great at the top, it drifts off on the underside with zero sideways pressure whatsoever. So what the heck am I doing wrong? I kept tightening the tension and it's not seemingly made a difference.

Here's one, waxed but not glued as I want to lower the middle layer first to hide the lights a little. To be fair on myself the picture doesn't do it justice but considering the EXCESSIVE amount of time I've spent on these it blummin' should look good!

Ashton.jpg

Attachments

• Ashton.jpg
    Ashton.jpg
    151.8 KB · Views: 649