Scroll saw blades

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MauriceD

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello all. This is my first visit to the scroll saw forum. I have been turning for many years but I have only just bought a Jet JSS-16 Bench Top Variable Speed Scroll Saw.
I know that I will be breaking blades at the start but I am confused as which to stock up on. I have patterns that say use a #7 or #5 blade etc. However when I look on the internet or even the spare pack that came with the saw the # scale does not appear to be used. Can somebody enlighten me so that I don't waste my money.

Thanks, Maurice

Blades are normally sold by a number such as Grade 7, Number 7 or just 7, common blade sizes are 9, 7, 5, 3, 1, 0, and 00. 9 being the heaviest and 00 very fine. blades are available from as high a number as 11 (10teeth per inch) right down to 00 (which are 27tpi).

I normally use the reverse tooth blades as they help prevent cut out and splintering at the bottom of the work. For starting I would suggest using numbers 2 or 3, 5, 7 and 9. below size 1 the blades are very delicate and are easily broken leading to frustration.

Always hoobies sell a good range of Niqua blades which I have been using for many years.

http://www.alwayshobbies.com/tools/hand ... ccessories

I would personally ignore any blade sizes given on patterns and use what I felt was best for the job, for general fret-sawing a no5 or 7 will suffice and most other delicate work can easily be done with a no 2 or 3, you only need really fine blades for very intricate internal work.

Hi Maurice welcome to the place :roll: that you will get good advice on this fabulous hobby that we all enjoy.I can only agree with the advice that John has given.I use a no3 reverse mostly for internal cutting.Welcome aboard :roll:

Take care

Bryan

Hello Maurice and welcome along to the scrolling forum.