Resawing 12" wide hardwood

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BodgerM_497

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to woodwork; hoping for advice to my re-saw queries, in bold below.

I recently resawed an 8" wide beech plank using this Japenese rip saw. It was tough going and there was a notiecable dish (the saw clearly wandered within the plank) about half way down the length. I've since inferred from another thread that this was due to
a) too short blade (had to attempt to line kerfs starting from opposite faces) and
b) too shallow gullets means sawdust couldn't clear from the cut. Are these reasons correct for the dishing?
https://www.axminstertools.com/japanese-hassunme-rip-saw-110041
...Next job is to re-saw a 10" wide Sapele. Clearly I need a more appropriate saw! I was planning to buy a quality sharpenable rip-saw. I'm always keen to acquire new skills, and accurate saw sharpening is no exception. After browsing, it seems a 4.5 TPI Lynx fits the bill?
https://www.flinn-garlick-saws.co.u.../?attribute_saw-size-tooth=22"+Rip+Saw+4.5tpi
Finally, why one would ever buy a restored second-hand saws (eg Disston), when such Thomas Flinn Sheffield made saw are available new for ~ same price? Am I missing something?

All advice gratefully received.

I'm pretty new to woodwork; hoping for advice to my re-saw queries, in bold below.

I recently resawed an 8" wide beech plank using this Japenese rip saw. It was tough going and there was a notiecable dish (the saw clearly wandered within the plank) about half way down the length. I've since inferred from another thread that this was due to
a) too short blade (had to attempt to line kerfs starting from opposite faces) and
b) too shallow gullets means sawdust couldn't clear from the cut. Are these reasons correct for the dishing?