Recording small vocal group on an ipad

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stewart

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi - any sound engineers here?
My wife has a small vocal group - about 5-10 singers - and wants to be able to record the group's performances on her ipad using GarageBand. Does anyone have any suggestions for what microphone would work well for this purpose? She has an irig device which will let her plug in a microphone with an xlr connection and it has phantom power of 48v as well. Any advice gratefully received! We've found the web rather too vast to help us narrow down the choice!

I'm not a sound engineer but I do record a number of productions/performances my Granddaughters take part in.
I use a Tamron DR40 sound recorder and then sync it to the video footage I've taken on my DSLR camera and iPhone. I also record the sound manually using a Rode Mic on the camera.
I can then balance out the sounds using my video editing software.
Rode make a iXY lightening microphone especially for the iPad and iPhone but check which versions it fits.

Rod

Give Eric the Viking a nudge. He is a sound engineer. A very good sound engineer. You will learn more than you could possibly imagine that you did not know.
You have been warned...

I use a large diaphragm condenser mic for two voices + 2 acoustic instruments. Think bluegrass band all standing round the one mic.

Budget option is the Beringer C1 at about £40, but a mic stand and shock mount plus cables will be another £25+.

Friends use Rode NT1 mics @ £155 each, very nice.

These will work well for performances too, though put the mic well behind the speakers and turn any monitors down or off.

I initially wrote a lot of guff about how to do what you ask, but I've deleted it. Honestly, she's wasting her money taking this any further with that add-on box for an iPad. It has several problems: