Reasonably priced starter forge

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sihollies

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone could please advise.

I have no knowledge at all about metalworking as I am a woodworker, so please excuse my naivety in my input.

My 13 year ol godson has recently acquired a passion for all things wood and has a huge urge for making his own kitchen knife. (He is a keen cook/chef too)

I would like to support and encourage him on his recently found interests, as i feel it is far more constructive than looking at a computer screen or playing video games.

Could anyone please suggest a small/medium, safe, reasonably priced propane forge that can be purchased within the UK?

He has done his research and has stated that 'Mr Volcano' forges are ideal, but i believe that they are hard to come by in the UK and the import fees from the US are quite ridiculous.

Again, please bear with me on this subject, as it is all new to me.

Many thanks in advance, as always

Simon

This is something that I have looked into myself. I homed in on one of the Devil- forges, on Ebay, I believe they are manufactured in Lithuania. They look to be fairly robust and are reasonably priced. And I believe they are available in 1,2 or 3 burner options.

I didn't purchase one,, as at present I have a small home -made forge adapted from a garden incinerator, which suits me fine. It works with coke or charcoal and a blower.

The reason I was looking, is that the propane forge would offer a more convenient, cleaner system which should be Ideal for knife making

Simon
if you like to consider secondhand and you fancy a trip to sheffield
i have a propane forge hose and a big gas bottle and an anvil and tools etc and some steel stock
all very reasonably priced say <£150 for the lot
Ian

Simon