Another wood idenfication question

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sihollies

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi All,

My 13 year old godson is becoming extremely interested/obsessed in woodworking, amongst other practical/creative disciplines and has asked me to oversee him during his attempts at making an end grain chopping board. (His first ever project)

He claims he has done his research and has decided that he would like to use Iroko to make the board & a joiner friend of mine has donated a 2 metre x 150mm x 20mm length of what he claims is Iroko.

I am no expert, but I have my doubts that the timber he has kindly given me is Iroko & I am thinking it may be Maple?? (which IMO will be fine)

Please see attached pictures of the timber & if anyone could confirm the species, it would be greatly appreciated.

All the very best to you all,
Simon.

Timber.png

Timber 1.png

Thanks both,

I have read historic UKW posts and there seems to be some bad press when it comes to using Iroko for chopping boards, but there are so many Iroko boards available that are advertised for sale, so I can't see that Iroko can be that bad when it comes to food contamination??

Iroko kitchen worktops are also popular, which IMO reinforces the above??

This is an area which I have no experience in, so I may be completely wrong?

Thanks again
Simon

Worktops and chopping boards have wood cut different ways. Long grain iroko is very resistant to chemical damage, which is why lab benches etc. were/are made from it, but chopping boards are end grain and iroko is quite open grained/porous which is why it might not be an ideal choice for one (although often made and sold). Maple is dense has closed pores and better suited.

Cheers 'Phil Pascoe'