Newbie bandsaw question

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sihollies

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
HI,
I am wondering if someone could please advise?

I am a hobbyist and have just taken the plunge and bought a small bandsaw while the 'Black Friday' reductions were in place. (Axminster Workshop AW1400B)

I intend to use it for general purpose lightweight jobs, but my first project is to make an endgrain chopping board with my 13 year old godson, who recently seems to have an obsession with timber along with making himself a Damascus kitchen knife. (He's really into cooking too)

I set the bandsaw up today after replacing the blade that came with the saw for a 6mm, 6tpi Charnwood alternative.

I tested the saw on several thicknesses of timber, including cheap softwood, Sapele and Ash, but on each piece, the blade/machine left blade marks on both sides of the timber that i cut, and was wondering what I have done wrong, as I would like a smooth finish after cutting?

I have read the excellent thread titled, 'Bandsaw blade handy reference' which is located in this section of the forums, but would ideally like some direct input regarding the above.

I was thinking about buying a M42 10/14 varitooth blade for lesser thick timbers and perhaps an 8tpi blade for thicker stock, but as I stated above, I am very new to bandsaws & am very inexperienced, so please treat me with 'kid gloves'.

In essence: If possible, I would like some advise on how to create a smooth cut when using the bandsaw.

As always, many thanks in advance for your help.

Simon

I cannot answer your question, but I'd be looking for the options you have
regarding thin gauge blades.
I've not seen any sort of a head to head comparison between if that was in the back of your mind.
It's quite a small machine, so I'd suggest looking up popular machines of that size to