RandA Spindle thread

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Water-Mark

Established Member
Reaction score
I've recently aquired an old RandA 3" screwcutting lathe and i'm having some trouble identifying the headstock spindle thread.
I've been on lathes.co.uk and have found it was more than likely made by portass and rebadged but no mention of the spindle thread.

I've also found on the web an original advert with all of the specs but again no thread.

The calipers would have it as a 3/4 course thread but here is where i get stuck.

There are 6 threads in total and from the first to last tooth it measures half and inch suggesting a 12 tpi.

However i found a conversion chart and the metric pitch measures 2.5mm suggesting 10 tpi.

10 tpi is more likely but i really can't be sure as i'm not very experienced in this area.

Can anybody help before i start making a backplate?

Sounds like a standard 3/4" 10 TPI Whitworth (55deg.) thread. (metric pitch would be 2.54mm)

The alternate could be 3/4 - 12 UN (unified 60deg thread) (12tpi) (metric pitch would be 2.117mm)

Edit:- can you measure the root diameter, is there an undercut at the rear of the thread that matches the root diameter for instance.

Hi, thanks for the response.
I think it is a 3/4 10 bsw so i'll order a tap and try it in the old backplate.

The under cut measures 16mm which works out at 5/8".

Assuming you have very little by way of tooling.
If it is a whitworth thread the base and tops will be a bit rounded. American threads are uncut flat tops and bottoms. But they could be worn :(

can you grind a bit of metal (6" nail ?) so it fits the thread form exactly.

Now set the swivel on your tool post to 60 degrees, almost certainly marked.

face off a bit of something turnable straight across, and then machine using the swivelled toolpost cut the corner off to leave a 60 degree chamfer.