Pricing stuff?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TobyB

Established Member
Reaction score
This may come to nothing ... but ...

I'm completely new to this game as a hobby turner - but totally unexpected, a bit of gossip in a local cafe/deli as a customer led to them asking me if I could make some small pieces that they could try to sell as an extra bit of the business, especially in the run up to Xmas. They've not much space and are looking for cheapish impulse purchases ... small spinning tops, tea-light or candle holders, light-pulls, etc ... not big bowls etc that I like making ... but ... worth a try ... he reckoned "if the samples look good we'd like about £150-worth of stock initially" ...

How do you price your stuff? They have ideas of what they reckon they can sell some of whatever stuff I make for(£5 - £10 ideas). I have no idea what I sell my stuff to them for however. If I make a really simple spinning top in quick time that they want to sell for £2-3 out of dirt-cheap off-cut wood ... what do I charge them? What sort or mark-up or percentage should I be taking, or looking at it the other way, if he wants to charge that, what can I expect to get and then I can reckon if it's worth spending the time/materials to deliver ...

Guess what ... I know nothing about this sort of business ... any clues/pointers/warnings etc would be much appreciated!

i would suggest that you probably wont be able to turn a profit :roll:

lets say for example it takes you an hour to make a widget.
at minimum wage thats a £5.93, plus your lectric, any materials and finishes you may apply, even with 'free' wood lets say 50p, and delivery costs. lets round it up to £6.50.
a relative of mine works as a buyer for a local gift shop and insists that it is the norm for them to have a 100% markup,