Polyurethane over paste wax?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimmel

Reaction score
I'm new to woodwork and have just finished building a table - I'm very pleased with the build quality as it was my first ever project. I sanded it then used Liberon Black Bison Paste Wax (Dark Oak) to stain it. Stupidly, when I realised that the wax wasn't dark enough to achieve the colour I wanted, I started to apply it fairly heavily/thickly until it became nice and dark. I waited until it semi-dried and then brushed on a thin layer of 'Wickes ultra durable interior varnish'. This helped to seal in the wax somewhat but after leaving the table to dry for 48 hours i've found that when I touch the table, the wax slightly comes off on my finger.

I was wondering what would be the best thing to completely seal the table? In other words, to create a clear (matte/no shine) layer over the wax? Polyurehtane? I don't want to use something that will give off too many harsh chemicals as the table will go in the living room.

I now realise this was a fairly stupid way of trying to achieve the colour I wanted but I'm new to this and was just trying make best use of what I had to hand.

Any help would be much appreciated,
Thanks

Sorry to say that it is not going to happen, the sealing that is.

Nothing you apply is going to bond correctly to the wax, wax is a protection finish to prevent or at least reduce dirt and the like bonding and is a final coat process.

Wax with or without a sanding sealer coat underneath as a final finish or stain to desired shade and then lacquer/varnish etc. to gloss level required with a wax protection on top.

Think your only option is to strip back the coating with a solvent and just stay with the wax as a finish.