Paste Wax Recommendations

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

southendwoodworker

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm new to wood working and have recently built a router table out of ply.

Youtube videos, typically american based, profess minwax paste finishing wax as the best. However I see that its a bit harder to source here in the UK.

So my questions are:
  1. Is paste finishing wax the same as furniture wax?
  2. Would any old paste finishing wax be suitable for the router table top?
I was thinking of getting this: Liberon Black Bison Paste Wax Satin to gloss Clear 500ml and polishing it up.

I'm not wanting to spend a lot on it, but would like to use it going forward to protect my table saw table, and to grease wooden drawer slides.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Are you wanting to wax the ply top to give it a 'finish' or because you want to lubricate it to allow pieces of timber to glide through more easily?
Non of the paste waxes are suitable as a finish but are used over a finish to further enhance and protect.
If you want a wax to lubricate the surface then you want a solid block of pure paraffin wax which you would then rub into the surface from time to time, also excellent for drawer runners and steel screws in oak etc. You used to be able to use candle tea lights as they were made of paraffin wax but they are now made with palm oil wax which is no good as a lubricant.
If you want a finish on the ply you can use just about anything, shellac sanding sealer, rubbing varnish, oil finish etc but when it is cured you will have to cut it back with a fine abrasive (400-600 grit) until it is nice and smooth, you can then apply a paste wax over this to further lubricate the surface.