Planer Thicknesser in a small workshop, worth it?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gulvalgoose

Reaction score
Hello all,
I am new here.

I am mainly a hobbyist, but occasionally get small paid carpentry and furniture making jobs. But it's early days with that.

I have just taken a punt on a planer thicknesser (12", reputable firm), as it was offered at a price that seemed worth a gamble.

I currently have a triton thicknesser and have been face and edging with a hand plane which is okay on small stuff, but fairly time consuming on any bigger timbers.

Having been seduced by the efficiency of the PT, I am now thinking it may not be suitable for my small workshop and it's going to be a hell of a job even getting it in as my worskhop door is upon a 1m ledge.

I guess, what I am wondering is has anyone else bought tools or machinery that seemed absoloutely essential but they could actually make do without?

Has anyone else suffered that feeling of dread after purchasing machinery - i.e. how will I lift this?! will it work? will it fit? etc etc

How much floor space do you have?

I'd say a P/T is a very essential bit of kit for an efficient workshop, depending on what you're doing.

its approx 12 x 8 ft , though a fair bit of that is lost with table saw, workbench, router table and general niks naks

Eek, that is a fairly small footprint, especially if you've already got machines in there!

The thing is, most of the benchtop models aren't really worth having as they're an absolute pain to keep square and accurate in the surface planer mode and they're generally absurdly loud, but if you opt for a larger floor-standing machine like a PT260 model you'd really be pushing for space. I personally couldn't live without a surface planer of some form but you've got to weigh up the pros and cons of it.

Hi Trevanion and MikeG, thanks for your responses.