One for Brian (Claymore)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xiphidius

Established Member
Reaction score
and other Intarsia buffs.
Hi Brian and friends.
I would at some point like to have a go at Intarsia but perhaps not in a major way, atleast not just yet as I dont want to get sidetracked just yet being a newbie and all that. Can I ask some questions please.

What got you into Intarsia..
What was your first piece

I have seen patterns for stained glass which actually tell you the colours, I was thinking that one could match wood types to almost identical shades..I know that there is way more to this art so could be a little hobby for the future, for now just curious.

Anyone else interested in this art please do chip in, same questions apply, maybe include some images of your first efforts would be nice
Regards
C

I am new to scroll saw work and in the very near future will be trying intarsia how ever rather than buy expensive wood I am going to try dying the wood to create the different shades until I get more proficient,when I say the near future I mean when the weather gets a little warmer as I do all my work in the garage.

Thank you Brian for your neat reply coupled with the images it was a nice addition to your muse.
I like the way you have not just gone and cut the horses head out but used the flow of the grain in the woods to accentuate certain pieces (I expect this is another facet to learning this art). I will probably give this a go when the saw comes alongside what I'm originally buying it for, to embellish other things. Although I would need to practice first...I have a few basic ideas in my head to practice and perhaps a little unorthodox in its concept but we'll see how things go and I will post up for criticisms lol. nothing too intricate I might add lol..