Nova 1624-44 A Big Disapointment

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wyngate

Reaction score
Hi,
I am new to woodturning and new to this forum. I suppose that I've reached that age, y'know, garden sheds, wood, expensive machinery. So, I thought I would give woodturning a go. A decision that I now regret.

I thought that I would buy a lathe, so I went for what I considered to be a good one. Something that would work well and last, A Nova. Here is my experience so far:

I have had my Nova 1624-44 for about 6 weeks. And, I absolutely loath it! OK, I am new to woodturning so perhaps my opinion doesn't count for much.
Although heavy, it was easy to assemble and the instuctions were good. I got 8 legs with mine. Just as well, because 2 of the legs were faulty and unusable. One had a sloppy fitting thead, the other, weld in the thread.

The first test after assembly was of course alignment. I put in the the drive centre and the live tailstock centre and brought them together.

They didn't align. Alignment was out both horizontally and vertically. One can adjust the tailstock for horizontal alignment, which I did. But, there is no adjustment for vertical alignment. The live centre (tailstock), is at least 1mm below the drive centre.

This lathe is also very noisy. There is bearing noise and a slight clicking sound. The motor vibrates, so much so that the studs, which screw into the headstock, to which the motor is fixed, keep coming undone during use.

Belt changing is a nightmare and takes forever. To slacken the belt, you have to pull the motor forward - it works on a large cam which pivots the motor - but when fully pivoted over, the motor shaft locks against the the flimsy tin pulley housing (the pulley guard if you like), now, you cannot turn the motor pulley, making belt changing even harder.