Newbie Timber Sourcing Advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lazy_pete

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

As a complete beginner I've been waiting for an excuse to embark on some woodwork for years. Now I'm planning a replacement garage and will need to build some cupboards / shelves etc. and as I suspect many do, I'm going to start with a workbench, as saw horses and some planks are a bit of a pain.

I've worked out what I want to build, which requires some beams to glue up for the bench top and some basic leg / stretcher work with mortise / tenon joints. My problem is what to build it from. I had contemplated just using PSE 4x4's to keep it cheap in case I make a hash of any particular bit, but then thought it might be nice to make at least the top from hardwood.

As a complete beginner I'm unsure where to source seasoned hardwood for this purpose. Most things ive needed in the past have been solved with a trip to Jewsons / B&Q etc. Should I just visit the local hardwood sawmill (there's a Scottish network and one not too far away) or is there a cheaper / better way for the hobbyist?

Also, I don't have (or have access to) any workshop equipment like planers / thicknesses etc and was planning on picking up power tools as I go along. I thought it might be wise to get the hang of the basics with hand tools, of which I am collecting various elderly relatives, before buying expensive toys. Thus I'd be trueing beams etc by hand.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

Pete

Google Paul Sellers bench build. Stick to easily available softwood. There is no great advantage in hardwoods - small advantage yes, but as a beginner I wouldn't bother.
I never got around to improving my first bench (mainly redwood) as it's still going strong and will see me out I expect.