New Workshop equipment

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Some bloak

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody- I'm a total newbie here and very much look forward to learning how everybody else gets on in their woody dealings.

My question is concerning setting up and equipping my own workshop. I have some sound but fairly basic wood working experience gained over the years but I still have a lot of learning ahead of me. I intend to start on a hobby type of mission but would want to take on commissions for beds, bookcases and tables etc. as I go along. I'm not looking to go flat out as soon as possible on a trade basis so maybe could get by with lesser spec machinery for a couple of years to start with.

I've been looking at Record equipment as the prices would allow me to equip a small workshop for a reasonable budget- under £10k?. I know that these machines like many others these days are manufactured in China but I quite like the look of them. I realise that they won't stand the long test of time like the Wadkins or other 'green battleships' of old as i call them, but what are the range of modern Record machines really like?. There seems to be a mixed bag of reports but many seem quite positive. If anyone can lend me their experience and opinions on Record or any other comparative brands I'd be most grateful. I'd be looking to buy a planer/thicknesser, table saw, pillar drill, possibly a mortiser and a bandsaw. Any tips on extractors would also be much appreciated too. Many thanks.

A budget of >£10k will stretch to some Hammer (Felder) kit which is German made and built to last.