New Old Kid On the Block

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tinfoil

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I hope to become a regular here if time permits. I am a semi-retired builder and site carpenter. Hopefully, I should now be able to improve my bench carpentry skills - hence my presence here. My first project is going to be a sliding partition of four Shoji screens in Bolivian (or is it Brazilian?) Cedar - I will post a Sketchup drawing soon. If anyone has any experience and advice in making these I would be grateful to hear it.

My first real request however is some help in identifying this:
128fs356169.jpg
[/url]
128fs3566444.jpg
[/url]
I found it dumped and was surprised to discover that it is all mahogany under the white paint. Even more of a surprise was that the top is removable (a threaded rod and wingnut through the centre) and the curious arrangement of holes inside the top. What was it used for? Can anyone identify it...........

Looks like I'll have to have another go at posting images. Sorry about that.........

EDIT:
I have switched the images from Picasa to FreeShare.us and they seem to work better now.

Tinfoil
28/02/07

I think the spam trap will stop you posting links and images as a new member. A moderator will help you out with that. Welcome to the forum.

Welcome onto the forum Tinfoil
What part of South of the rivver do you come from? I lived 6 year in SE London, Old kent road, Peckham Camberwell New Cross etc I loved it but it would probably scare me ****less if I went there now :lol:
Cheers mate
Mr S :wink:

Hi Tinfoil

It looks like a plant stand or j'ardinare ( I think the spelling is right ) but I am not sure what the holes are for :?

Hi Tinfoil.

My first impression was the same as Colin's. In fact I'm sure I remember my old Gran having a large aspidistra on one like it.