Need a fence for an old Meber bandsaw

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

justinpeer

Established Member
Reaction score
A little while ago I picked up an old Meber bandsaw, it works well, although I'm still learning how to get it set up properly. I'd like to get a fence for it but it looks as thought I'd have to cut any fence that goes on the front due to how the blade is removed for changing. There's threaded holes on the underside of the table, but not on the face. I saw that Paul Sellers fitted a Kreg fence, which I'm looking at, to his bandsaws and, once it was securely fitted, just hacksawed a slot through it, which is certainly an option.

Just figured I'd ask here for any other options before cutting a brand new fence in half :)

Also, the mitre slot is very shallow on the table, any mitre gauges that might fit? they all seem to be deeper than this slot would require.

Attachments

• IMG_3434.jpeg
    IMG_3434.jpeg
    352.9 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_3433.jpeg
    IMG_3433.jpeg
    380.1 KB · Views: 0
I'd just bolt a fence rail to the left half of the table (2 bolts). It could extend a little past the blade slot but the blade could come out behind it if the spacers were right. A fence is almost always used on the left of the blade - all that's needed is that the fence can approach the blade for very thin cuts.

I'd make one, or look on ebay for used fences. It's useful if a fence is adjustable though, because bandsaw blades don't always cut true, there's often a bias in the set, even when new but more so when worn.

Felder's or Centauro's take on this for example, is the more sensible option than most others IMO
multico bandsaw.jpeg

Centauro cheap.jpg

Screenshot-2022-3-25 Keile, Kreise, Kopieren mit der Bandsäge - YouTube.png
Screenshot-2022-1-27 Turning Broken Drill Bits Into Lathe Tools.png