Myford ML8 advice and wood ID help requested

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HappyPixie

Established Member
Reaction score
Two questions from a complete newbie.

I've inherited a green Myford ML8 which hasn't been used for several years. I bought a Super Nova chuck and did a quick bowl out of (probably) mahogany and my second piece is this weird wood (below) which I'm trying to turn into a small urn. My father in law - whose lathe it was - had lots of odd bits of wood around and this was in a cylinder and was really heavy. It was covered in a dark coating of filth but after I got through it there was this light yellowy wood with a dense resinous core. This heartwood makes shavings like a sharp knife scraping a candle, like ribbons. There's pronounced smell, too, but I can't identify it - neither the wood not the smell!

Can anyone hazard a guess at the wood. Not having anything to go on, or even knowing why, I would have said olive.

My second question is what kind of oil can I use for the bearings. During my work on this piece there were some squeaks and groans. They stopped when I tightened the headstock against the drive bit thingy. I've got good old 3-in-1 oil but thought I'd ask first before using the first thing to hand.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Steve

IMG_0334_edit.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_0334_edit.jpg
    IMG_0334_edit.jpg
    149.4 KB · Views: 1,067
From the description of the wood I'm thinking it may be lignum vitae, not sure about that particular lathe and lubrication.

Cheers, Paul

I use automatic transmission fluid on my ML8. It's a total loss oil system apparently, so is designed to lose oil. It needs to be topped up regularly. I just fill mine until full.

Wood species I can't help you with, sorry

paulm":b7q46txp said: