Quantcast
  • We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

Multico Model K mortiser single phase conversion

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

guineafowl21

Established Member
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Messages
383
Reaction score
71
Location
Inverness
I bought this fine, old and very heavy machine for £150 (seller’s picture):
E1A2C5D9-2FBA-485D-B7A5-011ED3DA8457.jpeg


It’s a pre-1970 model, three phase and wound permanently in star, so required 3ph with 400V phase-phase, rather than the 3ph/230V ph-ph which a normal inverter drive would provide.
 

Attachments

guineafowl21

Established Member
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Messages
383
Reaction score
71
Location
Inverness
After opening the motor up, I had a dig in the windings and found the star connection:
00183DA2-F472-4F42-983F-C0D59213E0E6.jpeg


Close up:
98DA2653-95C6-4945-B1AC-C3EB8A9B04C5.jpeg


I brought the three new wires out the the paxolin panel:
092B5AD3-7CED-4A42-8B23-0EFFC6F8E82E.jpeg


After labelling the connections, I could then configure in delta with straps:
EF1B0666-20A7-4EFE-81AA-DCB5EA6087FD.jpeg


A cheap and cheerful, 1ph-3ph inverter later, the mortiser was working... (sorry for the sideways look - it’s the right way up on my computer:
2A28F150-1A65-42C8-B3FF-A5939105D3EF.jpeg


...and makes short work of mortices, even through knots!
04428F9C-5D40-456D-B3F2-0C76709B1323.jpeg
 

Attachments

guineafowl21

Established Member
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Messages
383
Reaction score
71
Location
Inverness
A very brief account, I know, but it was hard to find all the information I needed in one place. If anyone wants help with their conversion, post here and I’ll try to help out.
 

Ttrees

Iroko loco!
Joined
18 Nov 2012
Messages
2,532
Reaction score
156
Location
In me workshop
Good show =D>
Never heard of paxolin before, is it the only thing suited for the job?

Thanks for posting
Tom
 

guineafowl21

Established Member
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Messages
383
Reaction score
71
Location
Inverness
Ttrees":285g6357 said:
Good show =D>
Never heard of paxolin before, is it the only thing suited for the job?

Thanks for posting
Tom
Paxolin is the name, I think, for that brown insulating board found in older electronics. I’ve encountered similar stuff restoring vintage radios.
 

J-G

Established Member
Joined
20 Jan 2014
Messages
671
Reaction score
125
Location
ATHERSTONE
Ttrees":1b4w54ay said:
Never heard of paxolin before, is it the only thing suited for the job?
Paxolin is a Phenolic Resin laminate similar to Tufnol which is, as far as I am aware, a newer product. I remember Paxolin from the 50's but haven't seen it mentioned recently. I carry sheets of Tufnol which I use for all manner of things. Currently working on a Clock cum Tellurium using 3mm thick sheets to hold the bearings for all the gearing spindles.

The big benefit (for me) is its dimensional stability, though the electrical insulation is as important to many other users.
 

weekend_woodworker

Established Member
Joined
11 Dec 2018
Messages
135
Reaction score
29
Location
Bath, UK
Sorry to be dim, but can I check that the reason to change the wiring was that so a normal inverter would work with it, not to avoid the need for an inverter? I assume that would require a complete new motor or for the existing to be completely rewound?

Thanks

Mark


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

guineafowl21

Established Member
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Messages
383
Reaction score
71
Location
Inverness
weekend_woodworker":31egr7fs said:
Sorry to be dim, but can I check that the reason to change the wiring was that so a normal inverter would work with it, not to avoid the need for an inverter? I assume that would require a complete new motor or for the existing to be completely rewound?

Thanks

Mark


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The motor was configured in star, which is the three windings connected in a Y shape. The three phases would be fed in at the three ‘outer’ points, and there were three terminals to do this. The central point of the Y, where the three windings come together, was hidden. It was designed to have 400 (ish) volts between each phase.

A normal inverter drive can produce three phase from single, but with only 240V between each phase. In order to accept the lower voltage, the windings must be in delta, or a triangle. So the hidden central tri-connection (‘star point’) needed to be brought out as three more separate wires.

Dual voltage motors have all six terminals already, so it’s a simple matter of altering bridges between terminals to choose between star or delta.
 

weekend_woodworker

Established Member
Joined
11 Dec 2018
Messages
135
Reaction score
29
Location
Bath, UK
guineafowl21":3w08k8tl said:
weekend_woodworker":3w08k8tl said:
Sorry to be dim, but can I check that the reason to change the wiring was that so a normal inverter would work with it, not to avoid the need for an inverter? I assume that would require a complete new motor or for the existing to be completely rewound?

Thanks

Mark


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The motor was configured in star, which is the three windings connected in a Y shape. The three phases would be fed in at the three ‘outer’ points, and there were three terminals to do this. The central point of the Y, where the three windings come together, was hidden. It was designed to have 400 (ish) volts between each phase.

A normal inverter drive can produce three phase from single, but with only 240V between each phase. In order to accept the lower voltage, the windings must be in delta, or a triangle. So the hidden central tri-connection (‘star point’) needed to be brought out as three more separate wires.

Dual voltage motors have all six terminals already, so it’s a simple matter of altering bridges between terminals to choose between star or delta.
Thank you, that is really helpful. One last question of clarification, does that mean that a dual voltage motor will still require an inverter to create 3 phases at 220volts?

Many thanks

Mark


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

guineafowl21

Established Member
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Messages
383
Reaction score
71
Location
Inverness
Yes. There are other ways to convert, such as static or rotary phase converters, but inverter drives are so cheap and efficient they are usually your best option.
 

Groovyolly

New member
Joined
25 Feb 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
2
Location
Sydney
Hi all,

I recently joined the forums on the back of this thread. I have a Dominion BM mortiser (see photo below - reckon it's a 70's model) on the east coast of Australia and intend to convert in a similar manner to what guineaufowl21 achieved over the coming weeks (cheers for all the helpful info so far).

PXL_20210222_024614266.jpg


This will be my first 3 phase conversion and I've already learned a heap from reading how others have gone about it. I'd like to attempt guineafowl21's path first and am hoping my motor will be compatible - we'll get it working somehow though. :)

Really looking forward to it!

Cheers,

Olly
 

guineafowl21

Established Member
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Messages
383
Reaction score
71
Location
Inverness
Hi all,

I recently joined the forums on the back of this thread. I have a Dominion BM mortiser (see photo below - reckon it's a 70's model) on the east coast of Australia and intend to convert in a similar manner to what guineaufowl21 achieved over the coming weeks (cheers for all the helpful info so far).

View attachment 104566

This will be my first 3 phase conversion and I've already learned a heap from reading how others have gone about it. I'd like to attempt guineafowl21's path first and am hoping my motor will be compatible - we'll get it working somehow though. :)

Really looking forward to it!

Cheers,

Olly
That’s a substantial machine. Also some exciting stuff in the background...

Best place to start - a nice, clear pic of the motor rating plate.
 

Groovyolly

New member
Joined
25 Feb 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
2
Location
Sydney
How do mate. Thanks for responding.

Yes there were some incredible machines on offer on that place. If only I had more space...

The mortiser is in excellent condition and hasn't had a hard life. It spend most of it in a government mental hospice workshop. There were a ton of chisels and an unusual Mortise Master chainsaw cutter. Haven't been able to find anything about that, but it worked a treat when we tried it out.

The motor plate on the machine body is a little lacking, but it might get us started:

IMG_20210223_095419.jpg

No info as to whether it's wound star or delta unfortunately.

The machine will be delivered in a couple of weeks, so the current info I have is based on photos taken during inspection and what I witnessed. I did have the switch box opened up for a looksie too (no photo though 🤦‍♂️).

Really appreciate the help.
 

guineafowl21

Established Member
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Messages
383
Reaction score
71
Location
Inverness
We might call that a 2hp motor, 2-pole (from the rated speed), designed to be run for 45 mins each hour, or 75% duty cycle.

From the other information, it’s most likely star wound, requiring extraction of star point as with my Multico (also did a Wadkin RBD planer, if you fancy a search on here), if you wish to run on a standard inverter drive outputting 230V three phase. This is one option.

1. A static, rotary or digital phase converter will run this in its current configuration.
2. There are step-up inverter drives available, try drivesdirect.com.
3. Price up a three phase connection to your shop.
4. You may find that Dominion supply a single phase motor to fit (or even a modern dual voltage one). Multico do.

It all depends on how many 3ph machines you intend to buy.

The user 9fingers on here has a link in his signature to his PDF on motors which will get you up to speed on things.
 

Latest posts

Top