mirror finish

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bob321

Established Member
Reaction score
as said in the title how do i do it with dulux black gloss

thanks

bob321 8)

Hi Bob

Is this for furniture?

If so, I think you'll struggle to achieve a mirror finish with that product.

A better system would be to apply Precatalysed Lacquer. Sorry if you already know this but it needs to spray applied. Apply 1 coat of Black primer filler, sand back and spray on three coats (thinly) of black topcoat 90%. Probably worth thinning the lacquer by 10% with standard PC thinners.

Don't mean to scare you off but it's quite a skill, takes alot of patience and practice to achieve mirror finishes, especially in black.

If you have any other questions please just shout.

Ian

I will second Ian's comments Bob. I spray cars for a living and use a similar paint to the Cat/laquer mentioned but it does take a skill to apply it and de-nib and polish it. You may be better using black primer with Rustins plastic coat over it.

Ebonise it to make it black and finish it with Shellac in the French polish Manner, you will get the highest gloss you ever saw.
You could use Rustins, P/C. at least two coats, and then rub down according to instructions and burnish, this will give something of the effect you are looking for.

Derek.

mailee":44zoy4c5 said:
I will second Ian's comments Bob. I spray cars for a living and use a similar paint to the Cat/laquer mentioned but it does take a skill to apply it and de-nib and polish it. You may be better using black primer with Rustins plastic coat over it.

I've been experimenting using clear car lacquer over AC paint on MDF and then burnishing it to a high gloss. It works superbly.

Since I mastered this technique however, no-one has asked for a gloss finish...

Dan

Dan Tovey":3cubhclx said:
mailee":3cubhclx said: