making ruobo style bench

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nameloc

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi , I have been building a ruobo style split top bench (no tail vive)using timber my Dad was given years ago. I am new to woodwork and assumed the timber was oak as it was heavy, however after working with it I started having doubts as it had a waxy feel and after some googling suspected it was teak.
I posted a question here about advice on what finish to use when it was done and received very helpful answers (BLO) and also that teak was super expensive and a bit to good for a bench.
Unfortunately the project is already well under way so there is no turning back.
I thought I may as well document this heinous crime.
here is where Im up to. sorry no photos of early stuff, jointing and thicknessing.
also sorry that the order of photos is bottom to top and that a lot of the photos require looking with your head cocked to one side :( I couldn't work out how to turn them or move them into order, so start at the bottom and get a water bottle for your neck

Attachments

• IMG_1869.JPG
    IMG_1869.JPG
    111 KB · Views: 782
  • IMG_1056.JPG
    IMG_1056.JPG
    153 KB · Views: 782
  • IMG_1942.JPG
    IMG_1942.JPG
    101.7 KB · Views: 783
  • IMG_1941.JPG
    IMG_1941.JPG
    638 KB · Views: 783
  • IMG_1950.JPG
    IMG_1950.JPG
    103.2 KB · Views: 784
  • IMG_1958.JPG
    IMG_1958.JPG
    127.1 KB · Views: 784
  • IMG_1961.JPG
    IMG_1961.JPG
    121.4 KB · Views: 784
  • IMG_1959.JPG
    IMG_1959.JPG
    114.4 KB · Views: 786
  • IMG_1986.JPG
    IMG_1986.JPG
    118.1 KB · Views: 786
Wow, that looks fantastic. I do worry about the use of exotic woods now as they are going to become increasingly scarce. In your case however I don't think this is an issue, it's not like you've actively tried to buy this wood for this purpose.