Making bushings for pen kits

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stewart

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all
A happy new year...and then my question! I'm trying to make some bushings for a pen kit. They need a 6.3mm hole (no problem) then a 10mm length with a diameter of 7mm then another 10mm length with a diameter of 9.5mm. I've been trying to make them on my metal lathe (I'm more of a machining novice than I am a woodworker!) but without much success. So as a novice I thought I'd share my approach as it's bound to be wrong and hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

I'm using a length of round brass stock which is 12mm in diameter. It's being held in a three jaw chuck. I have left about 60mm of the bar protruding from the chuck. I've then used the tailstock with a drill chuck to drill the 6.3mm hole. I've then used a tool in the toolpost to bring the bar to concentricity and reduce it to 9.5mm - except it's 9.5mm at the end nearest the tailstock but 10mm at the headstock end. What am I doing wrong? Or is the lathe not set up correctly??

Any help gratefully received - don't mind waiting until next year... :lol:

sounds to me like the the rod isn't square in the jaws, or it isn't lining up with the tailstock properly.
What type of bushings are you making stewart? for what pen, and will you use a mandrel with them or not.

Hi Steve
They're for a Craft Supplies kit - their Click 1 pen. I'm going to use them on a mandrel. My mandrel came with 4 cones that can be used as 'universal' bushings - i didn't get on very well with them so thought I'd give my metal lathe a go. I didn't have any support at the tailstock end of the metal lathe when making the bushings - perhaps that's part of the problem...

Three things