What lathe for small jobs?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

timberfly

Established Member
Reaction score
I've never owned a lathe before, but need to make some shallow (up to 10mm deep), 10mm diameter holes in the end-grain of 20mm hardwood dowels. A lathe seems the best way to do this accurately and with repetition, with a drill chuck attachment for the tailstock. And a great chance to try something new...

What I'm unclear on is how much size determines accuracy and usability with lathes. I've basically narrowed my search down to something small but basically normal-sized, like the Axminster AW205WL - or a micro-lathe designed for smaller work, like the Proxxon FD 150/E. The former looks cheaper and likely to be more use in future, which is great, but I'm not clear on the downsides.

Given I'm new to lathes, I'm looking to buy something new rather than fix up a older second-hand machine.

The only opinion I'll offer is that a lathe with an induction motor and stepped pulleys / belt drive will be more reliable and last longer than one of those variable speed lathes that have a brushed motor underneath the headstock and bed.
Brushed motors are what were used in all power tools. Their brushes and eventually their commutators wear. Induction motors onnthe other hand are the staple of machine tools and last for decades.

In general terms, more weight = better rigidity, less vibration and likely better accuracy, so I'd pass on the proxxon (even though I have their alternative to a dremel).