Making a wooden scraper plane

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

speeder1987

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

So I was wondering what type of wooden plane to make next and I quite fancy trying to make a scraper plane. There doesn't appear to be much information on how to do this.

Anyone got any experience on doing this or any useful links? I've turned up very little which could be a hint that this might not be a very good idea!

I should probably say I have no experience of these types of planes so I'm not really sure of the principles. Could I just use a a regular plane blade with a very steep bed angle?

Cheers
John

John

If you can lay your hands on a copy of 'Making Woodwork Aids and Devices' by Robert Wearing, instructions for making one (and many other good things besides) are included.

Most scraper planes have a mechanism for altering the angle of the blade and/or bowing it to get it to cut effectively, so a wooden scraper plane without such mechanisms might pose a few problems in getting the angle of the blade right. Without such mechanisms you would be restricted to varying the angle of the hook put on the blade.

Cheers :wink:

Paul

If you google - Krenov style planes. You will find loads of blogs etc on plane making inc scraper/mitre planes :)

Hello,

For a starter, look at this:
http://www.woodworkersinstitute.com/page.asp?p=1526

I have made wooden scraper planes for myself, not that hard at all.
g.jpg

The second in the line is a scraper plane. The blade is bedded at 100 deg., so it is leaning forward.

Have a nice day,

János

Attachments

• g.jpg
    g.jpg
    41.7 KB · Views: 5,904
Hi,

Here are mine, first a small rosewood scraper plane
DSCF0015-2.jpg

Made the Krenov way.
Second an infill scraper welded steel construction.
DSC_0039-1.jpg