Logs

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sapper

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a relative novice in woodworking compared to a lot on the forum so I wondered if I could seek some help from the professionals amongst us please. Whilst I'm capable of doing a basic dovetail or mortice and tenon some of the basic things I just can't get my bonce round.

I've got some Ash and Oak logs for our wood burner the Oak ones are pretty green but the Ash are dried out to about 9% and I would like to get a couple of 9" long x4"x4" blocks out of a couple of them. I've got a bandsaw capable of cutting these but my question is, after cutting them to roughly this size and then using the bandsaw only, is it possible to square these on all sides? If it is, could anyone explain the basic method of doing it please. The fence on the saw is a dead 90 degrees and also the blade also is.

Appreciate any help.

With power tools it is pretty easier, flatten on side on the planer, then using a fence at 90degress flatten one edge. You now have face side and face edge, pass the block through the thicknesser using face side and face edge as the reference. You now have a four side square block. Trim ends square on the mitre saw or cross cut sled.

By hand flatten one side with a hand plan, using winding sticks to ensure no twist in the face, and a straightedge to ensure the face is not convex which is easy to achieve with a short block. Mark up the block all round from the flat face with a line at fixed height, plane to the reference line, you now have a block with two parallel faces. Plane an adjacent face at 90 degrees, using square and straight edge. Mark up a fixed height reference line from this adjacent face and plane to it for the last face. Trim ends square with a hand saw, or plane square with a shooting board.