Let's discuss furniture design and fine work

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jorny

Established Member
Reaction score
In another thread on this forum conserning youtubers the discussion started to touch on the subject of good design.

Inspirered by this I thought I should start the christmas season with a few thoughts on this subject and maybe start a discussion on a few pieces.

By profession and training I work with design. I work as an urban planner and have gone through architecture school and my Alma Mater focused on two things, the artistic process and sustainability. What I learned is that design is not a dark art. Drawing is not a talent. They are both skills that can be trained and learned. They are similar to reading and writing. Most people can learn to read and write, even though not everyone will become a Hemingway, Lagerlöf or Adiche. Most people can learn to design, even though not everyone will become the next Aalto, Mackintosh or Perriand.

One thing I find interesting is that a lot of people are interested in learning how to do perfect joinery rather than learning to make pieces that are well designed and are more impressed by perfect dovetails than great design. There is nothing wrong with this, this is a hobby for most people and whatever makes you happy is ofcourse OK. The thing is though, that I would rather make something with an overall pleasing and well designed shape/proportions and a few dovetails with gaps (or whichever joint) than something that is perfect in details but with bad proportions.

In the other thread there was a link, and short discussion about a maker who seems extremely skilled. Everything seems to be carried out with perfect precision, but it leaves me cold. I found the designs overly busy with too many elements for my taste.