Lathe Upgrade

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bluefoxy

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I want to upgrade my current lathe, a Jet 1220, to a lathe with variable speed and the ability to swivel the head. My initial thoughts veered towards the Record CL4 which is currently on special offer. However I have looked at a number of others from Axminster, Scheppack, Charnwood etc that use a mechanical variable speed system called variomatic (remember the Daf car of the 60's). These tend to be a lot cheaper than electronic control but I have no experience of them. Are they really as noisy as Alan Holtham says on the Record website and do they chew up belts daily? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ray

Ray, I have an Axminster AWVSL1000.... with the variable speed. Had it for about 18months or so with no problems at all..... save the very odd occasion when i clean and lube the speed mechanism (part of the maintenance program).

Is it noisy..? couldn't really say as i'v had nothing else to compare it to, but i dont think so.

And strangely i'm thinking of chopping it in for a Jet 1220...!! or the other one they do with the variable speed... 1440..???

As i'm only really interested in making 'small objects of desire' (see my posting from 10 mins ago) :lol: the big Ax is a bit of a waste (dont know if thats the correct term..??)

Nick

Hi Ray,

I've got the Jet 1442 with a bed extension:

P3190027.JPG

I've had it for over 5 years in a professional capacity and, apart from needing regular internal cleaning and a bit of lude every so often, has never yet missed a beat. This, as you can see, has mechanical variable speed, ranging from 360 - 2000 rpm, a very nice range, and it works nice and smooth and (so far) I'm on my first belt. Nice amount of Cast Iron too!