Members can turn off viewing Ads!

Krenov style Cabinet

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

Philly

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All,
As you probably know I have finally completed my "Krenov" style cabinet. I started it back in November so it is about time! :lol:
It is made from spalted sycamore and Ovangkol, and features NO man made materials. (Hey, how about a competition where you use no man made materials? No? Oh well :lol: ) The hardware is Brusso pin hinges and it is finished with oil, shellac and wax.
It was a real pleasure to work with the sycamore, especially as the Ovangkol was the complete opposite! Hanging the doors was not quite as difficult as I thought as I have never used pin hinges before, but it was still a bit nail biting. The handles are handmade, and many an hour was spent whittling various shapes to come up with the fianl design-many thanks for all your ideas! The drawers feature solid cedar bottoms (which I cut from a log I brought home for woodturning and seasoned myself) and have an overlapping front on the one side only to give the same join line as the doors.
I am pretty pleased with how it came together-instead of a final plan I left the design a bit fluid and let each part of the construction inspire the next. It certainly took longer than if I had a complete plan to begin with but the finished cabinet definitely came out o.k. in the end.
I think my next project will be a little more straightforward to give my nerves a chance to recover! :lol:
I have full step by step photo's on my website here...
http://www.philsville.co.uk/krenov1.htm
And a few pics ....
2005_0601krenovcomplete0008.jpg

2005_0531krenovhandles0005.jpg

2005_0601krenovcomplete0005.jpg

Cheers
Philly :D

Alf

Established Member
Reaction score