Alcove cabinets

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,

I thought I'd share my recently completed project. I've never done cabinetry before and I learnt a ton throughout the process and I'd probably change a few things now looking back. The biggest one would of using a MR MDF instead of the normal stuff and using a router to grove the rails and stiles of the shaker doors this might have prevented warping (already on a door but the others seems OK for now).

IMG_20221103_130330.jpg

Frame fixed to floorboards using Redwood PSE

IMG_20221109_163652.jpg

Sanded the edges of the MDF in three stages, 120, 180 and 240 using the orbital sander sat on top of the pile. I also primed them in this position too,

IMG-20221105-WA0005.jpeg

Doors made from 12mm and 6mm MDF, stiles and rail glued and pinned.

IMG-20221204-WA0001.jpeg

Carcasses assembled, painted and secured to the frame and walls. Back of carcass had to be cut out to accommodate the socket. I tempted to remove the sockets and secure them to the back of the cabinet but quickly decided it was going to be very difficult.

IMG_20230115_165103.jpg

Doors and filer pieces attached, skirting on and top being test fitted.

IMG_20230201_113910.jpg
IMG_20230201_113944.jpg

Finished!

I used Leyland Trade Acrylic Primer and Leyland Trade Hardwearing Acrylic Eggshell on the MDF.

@hertspretendchippy
That's excellent work.
Just a thought.
I've used Polycell 'Deep fill Pollyfilla' to fill gaps between a wall and the 'packing piece ' (or whatever it is called) of a cabinet.
You would end up with a seamless join between wall and cabinet when painted.
Cheers
Fred